Fall is here

At the risk of sounding trite, this time of year inspires me to curl up with a good book. I’m serious. All I want to do is sit in my mother’s amazingly comfortable gold Ethan Allen armchair with a great piece of literature. In full encouragement of my fall season bookish tendencies I decided to kill two birds with one stone. I’d read about perfume. At first it was just to gain more knowledge at which to share with all of you. But, that quickly turned into me finding lots of books that weren’t just helpful for my very limited knowledge of the topic, but interesting and worthy of reviews. So you know what, I’m going to give it a try. Starting…tomorrow, I will start a review series. First up on my list none other than Perfume: The story of a Murderer. These reviews won’t be strictly traditional, oh come on you all know me better than that. Of course I’ll scent them! Some will be easier than others like my very next pick for review The Book of Scented Things . Whether the book was specifically about perfume or not it’s been fun attempting to extract the perfume of each different story. Fall doesn’t just beg for certain hobbies. We’d be lying to ourselves if we didn’t acknowledge the slue of scents fall brings. Amber, cinnamon, mocha, tea, musk, vetiver, and yes *amused sigh* pumpkin spice. I’ve been diving into new fragrances, like Pharrell’s Girl, and new scented beauty products like Library of Flowers’ parfum crema. All of which I can’t wait to share in the coming weeks. But, maybe it’s the fact that everyone’s favorite thing about fall is upon us—daylight savings—because I’m in no rush. Don’t get me wrong, I plan to update this blog and keep up the pulse, I just won’t get too ambitious. I want this be organic like the very thing that gave wake to this whole blog. I never want this to feel like a chore I keep putting off. If I’m going to lose sleep over it, I want to be proud of it. So I just ask, practically beg, that you bear with me while I figure out my rhythm.   Thank you for reading sincerely, Kay W.*

Leave a Reply

